Selective Shopping

making the best use of purchases

Makeup I’m Using During October

The downside of concentrating on a select group of items is that you end up neglecting a whole lot of your other things. I’ve been choosing one palette to focus on each month, and I’ve really enjoyed doing this because it’s enough time to really try it out and get genuine thoughts on it, but it also lets me rotate through things so I don’t get bored and so I use a bunch of my things.

I’ve noticed that even in my downsize projects, I don’t reapply lip products enough to really get through my lip items. That’s why I decided to take a different approach, and now I’m going to be rotating eye and lip projects on a monthly basis. If I pulled something I realize I don’t like, I’m getting rid of it.

For October, I’ve decided to bust out my Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette. I really love this, but for whatever reason, I haven’t used it very much. You really only need a little bit with these shadows anyway, so I don’t expect I’ll be making very much of a dent in this by the end of the month, but I’m really excited because I love pretty much all of these colors and will be able to get a lot of use out of it.

Here’s what it looked like at the beginning of the month:

udnaked2And for lip products, I’ve chosen three:

oct lipsRevlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Sugar Plum.  Initial thoughts: This stuff is just so easy to wear. I really like it and the color is my favorite type of color to wear for the fall.

L’Oreal Color Riche Extraordinaire in Blushing Harmony. Initial thoughts: I love the color, and it’s a really nice glossy finish. I’m excited to get some use out of this, since I haven’t really worn it too much since I first got it.

Guerlain Shine Automatique Sheer Lipstick in 202 Mi-Mai. Initial thoughts: This is so expensive ($35!) I bought this years ago, and I don’t know what I was thinking. The color isn’t horrible or anything, and the package is lovely, but I just don’t think this is anything special. I’d like to get more use out of it, and this is something I do eventually want to use up.

I’ll post again at the end of the month to show what I’ve used and give my final thoughts.

Leave a comment